Feature Races on Australian Horse Racing Calendar

The Goodwood is a top-class sprint race with an esteemed history dating back to 1881. It is considered the premier race in South Australia.

First run: 1881 (won by D.O.D). Group 1 since 1980. Run over 1600m 1881-85; 1450 1980. Not held 1886-88; 1942-43. Also known as the Marlboro Plate, Goodwood Stakes and The Goodwood. Registered name SAJC Goodwood.

A handicap race since its inception, the conditions of the race were changed to set weights plus penalties in 2007 to maintain a status as a Group 1 race.

Since then the race has been won by the great sprinters Takeover Target (2009) and Black Caviar (2012)

Earlier winners of the Goodwood Handicap include Aurie's Star (1940), Royal Gem (1946), Matrice (1956) and Bomber Bill (2003).

Dual Goodwood Handicap winners include Mostyn (1894 & 1895) and Musket Belle (1911 & 1912)

Recent Winners of The Goodwood Handicap

2018 Santa Ana Lane Ben Melham Anthony Freeman Miss Rock I'll Have a Bit 1:09.8
2017 Vega Magic Craig Williams David & Ben Hayes &Tom Dabernig Miss Rock Casino Wizard 1:09.3
2016 Black Heart Bart Brad Rawiller Darren Weir Under The Louvre Supido 1:10.0
2015 Flamberge Vlad Duric Peter Moody Lord Of The Sky Under The Louvre 1:09.3
2014 Smokin’Joey Ben Melham Wez Hunter Platelet Riziz 1:11.6
2013 Platelet Ben Melham Darren Weir Conservatorium Altar 1:09.6
2012 Black Caviar Luke Nolen Peter Moody We’re Gonna Rock Stirling Grove 1:10.3
2011 Lone Rock Clare Lindop Robert Smerdon Crystal Lily Pinwheel 1:09.0
2010 Velocitea Craig Newitt Mick Price Catapulted Very Discreet 1:09.0
2009 Takeover Target Jay Ford Joe Janiak 1 Am Invincible Commanding Hope 1:10.7
2008 Shadoways Mark Pegus Gwenda Johnstone Cargo Cult Diplomatic Force 1:09.3
2007 LetGoThommo Steven King StevenJ Ryan Tesbury Jack Royal Ida 1:09.3
2006 Perfectly Ready Stephen Baster Mick Price Sassbee Squillani 1:10.7
2005 Glamour Puss Steven King Danny O’Brien Solar Antiquity Shablec 1:09.1
2004 Super Elegant Greg Childs Tony Vasil Recurring Danabaa 1:09.2
2003 Bomber Bill Steven Arnold Robert Smerdon Squillani Debrief 1:09.4
2002 Zip Zip Aray Brian Park David Jolly Libidinious The Big Chill 1:11.1
2001 Keeper Brett Prebble Myles Plumb Sudurka Ateaters 1:10.4
2000 Marstic Aaron Spiteri Tony Vasil Czar Hero Strident 1:13.9
1999 French Clock Damien Holland Pat Hyland Any Rhythm Loafer 1:10.8
1998 Spectrum Paul Harvey George Hanlon Scandinavia Its My Sin 1:08.3
1997 Bellzevir Michael Carson Jim Houlahan Another Excuse Clang 1:10.3
1996 Sword Chris Munce Jack Denham Lord Matthew Scorn Bold 1:09.0