Feature Races on Australian Horse Racing Calendar

First run in 1860 at the old Thebarton course a number of South Australian Derby winners have gone on to success in the Melbourne Cup, including TIM WHIFFLER (1865), THE ASSYRIAN (1880), AURARIA (1895), GATUM GATUM (1961) and SUBZERO (1992).

Other prominent winners include LORD SETAY (1919), who won the Toorak Hcp (1920); DAYANA (1972) won the Victoria Derby, WA Derby (1972), Perth Cup (1973),  STORMY REX (1977) won the Victoria Derby, WA Derby and Kingston Town Stakes that year; BREWERY BOY (1981) won the Victoria Derby (1981) as did REBEL RAIDER (2008)

Recent South Australian Derby Winners

2018 Leicester Damien Lane Darren Weir Rezealient Runaway
2017 Volatile Mix John Allen Darren Weir Ruthven Odeon
2016 Howard Be Thy Name John Allen Darren Weir Etymology Cool Chap
2015 Delicacy Peter Hall Grant Williams Werther Allergic
2014 Kushadasi Steven Arnold Richard Jolly Scratchy Bottom Best Case
2013 Escado Ben Melham Matt Laurie Hioctdane Shoreham
2012 Zabeelionaire Damien Oliver LeonCorstens Sabrage Westsouthwest
2011 Shadows In The Sun Ben Melham Anthony Cummings Echoes Of Heaven Lalla Rookh
2010 Kidnapped Kerrin McEvoy Peter Snowden Red Colossus Sea Galleon
2009 Rebel Raider Clare Undop Leon Macdonald Astro Gains Fitoussi
2008 Zarita Greg Childs Pat Hyland Zagreb Neugine
2007 Lazer Sharp Brad Rawiller Jamie Edwards Classic DeLago Red Lord
2006 Testafiable Greg Childs Peter Moody Empire Gold Irazu
2005 Tails Of Triomphe Paul Gatt Terry O’Sullivan Douro Valley Kamsky
2004 Hard To Get Joe Bowditch MarkKavanagh OnAJeune Better Jetsetter
2003 Mummify Danny Nikolic Lee Freedman Vicksbuigh LordWooburn
2002 Pantani Danny Nikolic Robbie Laing Silver Baron Lester Thunderwing
2001 Big Pat Peter Mertens Peter Tulloch Bush Padre Adolescence
2000 Blue Murder Matt Gatt Cliff Brown Mr Nelson Voile D’Or
1999 Showella Eddie Wilkinson Frank Ritchie Seasquill Our Position
1998 Buita Nash Rawiller Tim White Prince Standaan The Hind
1997 Markham Jason Holder Cliff Brown Kings Landing Derobe
1996 Cheviot Damian Browne Cliff Brown Hurricane Storm Pay Back Time