Feature Races on Australian Horse Racing Calendar

First run in 1983 ( won by Ranee's Palace), Listed 1984-85. Group 3 1986-2003. Group 2 in 2004, then the race became a Group 1 in 2005.

Held on the same day as the Group 1 Australasian Oaks, the Robert Sangster Stakes has been run as the ‘Úbet Classic' in recent years and is held alongside the Group 2 Queen Of The South Stakes & Group 3 DC Mckay Stakes

ALINGHI (2005) won the first edition at Group 1 level, and BLACK CAVIAR (2012) created history in this race as she extended her unbeaten streak to 20 wins to eclipse the Australasian record of 19 consecutive victories jointly held by Desert Gold and Gloaming

Recent Winners of the Robert Sangster Stakes

2018 Shoals Tim Clark Anthony Freeman Secret Agenda Mica Lil
2017 Secret Agenda Damien Oliver Mick Price Viddora 1 Am A Star
2016 Precious Gem Jake Noonan Henry Dwyer Sheidel 1 Love It
2015 Miracles Of Life Hugh Bowman Peter& Paul Snowden Gregers 1 Love It
2014 Driefontein Vlad Duric Gai Waterhouse Platelet Gregers
2013 Platelet Ben Melham Darren Weir Angelic Light Yosei
2012 Black Caviar Luke Nolen Peter Moody Sistine Angel Power Princess
2011 Response Dwayne Dunn Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Beaded Miss Qctopussy
2010 Rostova Steven King Steve Richards Velocitea Sister Madly
2009 Bel Mer Craig Newitt Mick Price Hidden Energy Impressive Eagle
2008 Juste Momente Steven Arnold Danny O’Brien Zipanese Serious Speed
2007 Universal Queen Corey Brown Lee Freedman Media Flying Object
2006 Ellicorsam Danny Nikolic Lee Freedman Social Glow Truly Wicked
2005 Alinghi Damien Oliver Lee Freedman Glamour Puss Solar Antiquity
2004 French Bid Stephen Baster Mick Price Ry For Me Social Glow
2003 Our Egyptian Raine Cathy Treymane Kenny Rae Brief Embrace Dama DeNoche
2002 Suzy Grey Paul Gatt Alan Bailey Regal Kiss Lady Belvedere
2001 Umaline Shayne Cahill John Hall Fayrouz Crixia
2000 Rain Dance Lady Fabian Alescil David Hail Tapalinga Daninkling
1999 Dantelah Jim Cassidy Paul Perry My Millennium Speedy Kids
1998 Spirit Of Love Eddie Wilkinson Mick Price Will Fly Rose Of Danehil!
1997 Apple Danish Michael Carson Anthony Cummings Bionic Bess Zeya
1996 Mad Shaviri Brett Prebble Terry O’Sullivan Twilight Precieux Viminaria