Feature Races on Australian Horse Racing Calendar

The Caulfield Cup one of Australia's premier staying events – and with the massive prize money on offer, is the richest 2400-metre race in the world. Held under handicap conditions, the race is for horses aged three years old and older, over a distance of 2400 metres

NEWMINSTER (1879) won the first running. Dual winners include PARIS (1892, 94). POSEIDON (1906, 07), UNCLE SAM (1912, 14), WHITTIER (1922, 25), RISING FAST (1954, 55) and MING DYNASTY (1977, 80).

Other notables include SWEET NELL (1903), MANFRED (1926). AMOUNIS (1930). ROGILLA (1932). THE TRUMP (1937). TRANQUIL STAR (1942). ROYAL GEM (1946). REDCRAZE (1956), TULLOCH (1957), GALILEE (1966), TOBIN BRONZE (1967). BIG PHILOU (1969), LEILANI (1974). NORTHERLY (2002) and DUNADEN (2012).

EURYTHMIC (1920) won the WATC Derby, Perth Cup (1919), Mackinnon Stakes twice (1920, 21), Caulfield Stakes three times (1920—22) and the Sydney Cup (1921): MIGHTY KINGDOM (1979) also won the Spring Champion Stakes, Sir Rupert Clark Stakes, Caulfield Stakes and WATC Australian Derby that year.

He remains the last 3yo to win.

MIGHT AND POWER (1997) made all to street his rivals by 7 lengths in track-record time. He won 15 races including the Melbourne Cup (1997), Tancred Stakes, Doomben Cup, Caulfield Stakes and also broke the course record in the Cox Plate (1998)

TAUFAN’S MELODY (1998) controversially survived a protest to be the first European-trained winner

MUMMIFY (2003) won the SA Derby, Underwood Stakes (2003), Caulfield Stakes (2004) and the Singapore International Cup (2005); and ALL THE GOOD (2008) gave Godolphin its first major win in Australia.


J B Cummings, seven wins (Galilee; Big Philou; Leilani and Ming Dynasty, twice; Let's Elope, Viewed), T J Smith, four wins (Redcraze; Tulloch; Taksan; Mighty Kingdom), Lee Freedman, four wins (Mannerism, Paris Lane, Doriemus, Mummify). T Wilson, three wins (Newminster, Blink Bonny, Oakleigh; Jack Holt, three wins (High Syce, Maple, Eurythmic); C T Godby, three wins (Purser, Gaine Carrington and Northwind); H McCalman, three wins (Whittier, twice, and Manfred). P T Heywood, three wins (Hymettus twice and Calma); In 1919 R Bradfield trained the three placegetters, Lucknow, Nightwatch and Chrome.


Scobie Breasley rode five winners of the Caulfield Cup (Tranquil Star, Skipton, Counsel, St. Fairy and Peshawar). Damien Oliver has ridden four winners (Mannerism, Paris Lane, Doriemus, Sky Heights). Frank Dempsey rode three winners (Lavendo, Bronzetti and Eurythmic). Neville Sellwood rode three winners (Grey Boots, Basha Felika and Tulloch). Mick Mallyon rode three winners (Leilani, Bunratty Castle, Gay Icarus), Billy Duncan had 14 mounts for 2 wins, 2 seconds and 2 thirds.


Tulloch, 6-4 on, won in 1957; Tobin Bronze, 11-8 on, sixth in 1966; Manfred 5-4, won in 1926; Eurythmic 6-4, won in 1920; Suleiman, 6-4, 3rd in 1975; Bernborough, 7-4, 5th in 1946; Rising Fast, 7-4, won in 1954; Comic Court, 7-4, third in 1949; Sir Simper, 7-4, third in 1934; Pink On, 7-4, eighth in 1908.


Saint Warden 100-1, Northwind 66-1, Taufan’s Melody 66-1, Blink Bonny 50-1, Ming Dynasty, Imposera 50-1, and Lieutentant Bill 40-1, first; Lisa’s Game 100-1, Segati 66-1, Jimmie Boy 66-1; Gatum Gatum 66-1. second; Father’s Day 200-1, Yacamunda 100-1, Barbaricus 100-1; Prince Delville 80-1; Delta Blues 80-1, Broadway Hit 66-1. third.


Aborigine (33-1) and Blue Book (20-1) dead-heated for first in the 1909 Caulfield Cup.
Baghdad Note (15-1) and Royal Show (20-1) dead-heated for third in the 1970 Caulfield Cup.


Caulfield Cup in 1937 was postponed from Saturday, Oct. 16th, to Wednesday, Oct. 20th


In 1969 Nausori was first past post, but a protest by Roy Higgins (Big Philou) for interference at furlong post was upheld.

In 1893 Tim Swivelier won but was disqualified for boring.


Redcraze 9.13 (63kg), Rising Fast 9,10 (61.5kg), Tobin Bronze 9.10 (61.5kg), Amounis 9.8 (61kg), Manfred 9,6 (60kg), Purser (59.5kg), Paris 9.4 (59kg), High .Syce 9.4 (59kg), first;

Amounis 9.5 (59.5kg), Mac's Amber 9.4 (59kg), Wolaroi 9.3 (58.5kg), Hyperno 59kg. (9.4), Lawrence (9.3) 58.5kg, Lady Medalist 9.3 (58.5kg), second:

Gothic 9.7 (60.5kg) Sailor's Guide 9.6 (60kg),- Dhaulagiri 9,6 (60kg), Craftsman 9.6 (60kg), Gunsynd 62kg (9.11) and Kingston Town 60kg (9.6) third.


(Might And Power set a record margin in 1997 when he won by 7-1/2 lengths

Caulfield Cup Past Winners

Group 1 Caulfield Cup is one of Australia's top staying events for horses 3 years old and over

# Two Caulfield Cups were held in 1881. Blue Ribbon won in the Autumn, Master Avenei in the Spring. No official third was given in Master Avenei's cup although most observers regarded Woodlands as third over the line!

Sires of Past Caulfield Cup Winners