Feature Races on Australian Horse Racing Calendar

Formerly known simply as the Lightning Stakes, in 2014 the race was re-named in honour of the champion sprinter Black Caviar

BLACK CAVIAR (2011-13) brought up a hat-trick of victories in the Lightning Stakes, the most recent in track-record time. Undefeated in all 25 starts, Black Caviar thrilled crowds and packed grandstands as she reeled off displays of raw speed and awesome power, gracefully disposing of all opposition with absolute ease. She often recorded 200m sectionals in less than 10 seconds with seemingly no effort.

Black Caviar broke the record of consecutive wins in Australasia and holds the benchmark of 15 wins at Group 1 – nine of those in succession.

She was a phenomenon in our time and probably the greatest sprinter that the world has ever seen.

There have been a number of dual winners of this race including SKY HIGH (1961, 62), a winner of 26 stakes races from 1000m to 2500m including the Golden Slipper, Champagne Stakes, Victoria Derby (1960), Epsom Hcp, All Aged Stakes, Futurity Stakes, Caulfield Stakes, Mackinnon Stakes (1961), Chipping Norton Stakes, Linlithgow Stakes (1962) and two Ranvet Stakes (1962, 63).

WENONA GIRL (1963, 64) won 27 races including the ATC Sires’ Produce, Rosehill Guineas, Thousand Guineas, Flight Stakes (1960), ATC Australian Oaks (1961), two Ranvet Stakes (1961, 64), CF Orr Stakes (1962), Cantala Stakes, George Main Stakes (1963) and All Aged Stakes (1964).

MAYBE MAHAL (1977, 78) won the Cantala Stakes (1976), Doomben 10,000 (1977), Newmarket Hep and Doncaster Hep (1978).

RIVER ROUGH (1984, 85); SCHILLACI (1992, 93) also won the Oakleigh Plate, Newmarket Hep,The Galaxy (1992), George Ryder Stakes (1993) and two Futurity Stakes (1993, 95) and MAHOGANY (1995, 97).

TODMAN (1960) won 10 of 12 including the Golden Slipper and Champagne Stakes (1957); STORM QUEEN (1967) won the Golden Slipper, Champagne Stakes, Caulfield Guineas and the Cantala Stakes the previous year; DUAL CHOICE (1971): CENTURY (1974); THE JUDGE (1979); ZEDI- TAVE (1989); CHOISIR (2003); and FASTNET ROCK (2005).

TAKEOVER TARGET (2006) was famously bought for a measly $1250 by former Queanbeyan cab driver Joe Janiak.

The affable Janiak never could have guessed when he shook hands on his purchase that he was destined to also shake the hand of the Queen of England.

Joe Janiak trained the horse to 21 wins across the globe including the Newmarket Hep, King’s Stand Stakes, Sprinters Stakes (2006), Doomben 10,000 (2007) , Singapore International Sprint (2008), TJ Smith Stakes, and the Goodwood Stakes (2009) to rack up over $6,000,000 in prize money.

Other notable winners include MISS ANDRETTI (2007). APACHE CAT (2008) , and SCENIC BLAST (2009), who won the Newmarket Hep and the King’s Stand Stakes that year.

Black Caviar Lighting Stakes Past Winners

Past winners of the Group 1 sprint race the Black Caviar Stakes held at Flemington Racecourse
2018Redkirk Warrior
1955Gay Vista
1956Apple Bay
1957Copper Year
1961Sky High
1962Sky High
1963Wenona Girl
1964Wenona Girl
1967Storm Queen
1968Begonia Belle
1969Mister Hush
1970Black Onyx
1971Dual Choice
1973Make Mine Roses
1975Cap D'Antibes
1977Maybe Mahal
1978Maybe Mahal
1979The Judge
1981Countess Marizza
1982He's A Haze
1984River Rough
1985River Rough
1986Hula Chief
1987Placid Ark
1991Shaftesbury Avenue
1996Gold Ace
1998General Nediym
2000Testa Rossa
2002Spinning Hill
2004Regimental Gal
2005Fastnet Rock
2006Takeover Target
2007Miss Andretti
2008Apache Cat
2009Scenic Blast
2011Black Caviar
2012Black Caviar
2013Black Caviar
2015Lankan Rupee